Skip to main content
European Education Area home page European Education Area home page

Study in Europe

Getting you ready to plan and complete higher education studies in Europe

Belgium country profile

Discover everything you need to know about applying for higher education programmes and studying in Belgium.

The Kingdom of Belgium has a federal state structure, organised into 3 Communities.

  1. Flanders and Brussels - the Flemish Community (Dutch speaking)
  2. Wallonia and Brussels - the French Community (French speaking)
  3. a German Community (German speaking) in the eastern part of Belgium

Each Community has its own government and ministry of education. The capital city, Brussels, links to the communities.

For more information, visit the specific profiles for